Be One’s True Self

In order to learn to be ones true self, it is necessery to obtain a wide and extensive knowledge of what has been said and done in the world: critically to inquire into it; carefully to ponder over it; clearly to sift it; and earnestly to carry it out.

It matters not what you learn, but when you once learn a thing, you must ever give it up until you have mastered. It matters not what you inquire into but when you inquire into a thing, you must never give it up until you have thoroughly understood it. It matters not what you try to think out, but when you once try to think out a thing, you must never give it up until you have sifted it out clearly and distincly. It matters not what you try to carry out, but when you once try to carry out a thing, you must never give it up until you have done it thoroughly and well.

If another man succeeds by one effort, you will use a hundred efforts. If another man succeeds by ten efforts, you will use a thousand efforts.

Anonymous

TEXT VI- Problem Set Nurul Fikri SuperIntensif 2012: 75

Agak mbulet ya. hm, tapi merasuk lho.

One thought on “Be One’s True Self

  1. sientong December 12, 2013 / 5:04 PM

    Reblogged this on soliloquy and commented:
    It matters not what you try to carry out, but when you once try to carry out a thing, you must never give it up until you have done it thoroughly and well.

    Aku ingin emphasize di bagian itu, soalnya aku merasa aku benar-benar kurang di bagian harus melakukan dengan sebaik-baiknya apapun keputusan yang sudah dibuat. Melihat perjalanan hidupku hingga detik ini, aku merasa jarang sekali aku benar-benar all-out dalam sesuatu. Pertemanan, organisasi, pelajaran, target, apapun itu. Aku lebih sering berada dalam zona nyaman, melakukan sesuatu seenaknya saja. Tidak totalitas. Ironisnya, aku sudah cukup paham banyak hal dalam hidup ini tentang apa-apa yang seharusnya diperbuat. Fokus dan serius. Yang parahnya tidak juga aku lakukan. Malam ini, aku ingin mengingatkan diri sendiri untuk menghadapi thesis, tidak menyerah saja tidak cukup, harus dilengkapi dengan melakukannya dengan sebaik mungkin. Sudah cukup beberapa hari kemarin untuk prokrastinasi. Sudah saatnya kembali berlaga dan memupuk semangat. Besok harus presentasi, dan itu berarti sudah tiga colloquium yang aku ikuti. Put some efforts and use this lazy brain. For now, nobody can be the hero but me. Thanks nezh.

Leave a Reply

